16:43 GMT +322 October 2019
Listen Live
    Thomas Perlmann (R), the Secretary of the Nobel Committee, speaks as the winners are announced of the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine during a press conference at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden, on October 7, 2019. - William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza of the US and Peter Ratcliffe of Britain win the 2019 Nobel Medicine Prize.

    Kaelin, Ratcliffe, Semenza Awarded Nobel Prize in Medicine For Work on Cells and Oxygen Availability

    Get short URL
    0 60

    The award ceremony will, as per tradition, take place on 10 December in Stockholm, on the day commemorating the death of entrepreneur and inventor Alfred Nobel, who gave the name to the prestigious prize.

    The 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to William G. Kaelin Jr, Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza for their research on the reaction of cells to oxygen availability, the award organisers said on Monday. The joint research has provided new insights into the treatment of diseases such as anaemia and cancer, among others.

    The scientists will share a prize of 9 million Swedish crowns, or $913,000.​

    medicine, Nobel Prize
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik