07:20 GMT26 February 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    Monero and three other cryptocurrencies have fallen victim to the Japanese Financial Services Agency's (FSA) new policy aimed at banning all cryptocurrencies that offer significant anonymity.

    The Japan-based cryptocurrency exchange Coincheck has confirmed rumors that it will be delisting monero, zcash, dash and Augur's reputation token by June 18. The remaining cryptocurrencies in users' wallets will be forcibly converted to Japanese yen at the market price, the exchange reported.

    Monero had been among the top-10 cryptocurrencies with highest capitalization, and dash was among the top-10 most popular ones in 2017. All four banned cryptocurrencies offer a significant level of anonymity in transactions.

    READ MORE: Sex, Power & Cryptocurrencies: Financial Dominatrix on Expensive Modern Fetish

    Coincheck operates under strict supervision of the Japanese regulator, the FSA. The Nikkei Asian Review reported earlier in May that the FSA is planning to impose a new set of policies towards cryptocurrency exchanges. One of the more notable points is that the policy would ban currencies "granting a high level of anonymity," something that is believed to be useful for money laundering. Coincheck has already announced that it would "drastically review" its internal controls and would strengthen its efforts against money laundering and terrorist financing.


    Value of Ethereum Declines After Regulators Re-Examine Cryptocurrencies
    People Should Pick Cryptocurrencies Upon Merits, Not Draconian Law - Financier
    Iranian Central Bank Bans Use of Cryptocurrencies
    Pay for Play: Why Pornhub Is in Bed With Verge Instead of Other Cryptocurrencies
    Europol Neutralizes Criminals That Used Cryptocurrencies to Launder Money
    Cryptocurrencies: How Are They Taxed?
    regulation, ban, cryptocurrencies, cryptocurrency, cryptocurrency exchange, Financial Services Agency (FSA), Japan
    Community standardsDiscussion