08:50 GMT30 October 2020
Listen Live
    Tech
    Get short URL
    0 72
    Subscribe

    The debut of a new, rail-launched experimental rocket for small satellites failed less than a minute into its flight, the US Air Force said, according to Spacenews.com.

    The rail-launched Super Strypi rocket was part of the Operationally Responsive Space (ORS)-4 mission.

    "The ORS-4 mission on an experimental Super Strypi launch vehicle failed in mid-flight after liftoff at 5:45 p.m. Hawaii Standard Time (7:45 p.m. PST/10:45 p.m. EST) today from the Pacific Missile Range Facility off Barking Sands, Kauai, Hawaii," the Air Force said in a brief statement on November 4.

    Project officials wanted to build a new launcher that would provide a low-cost launch option for smaller satellites. The Super Strypi project was expected to cost about $15 million per mission and bring as much as 300 kilograms of load into orbit.

    Currently US defense organizations, such as the US Army, the Air Force and the National Reconnaissance Office build heavy-lift rockets that cost billions of dollars. 

    Related:

    Russia Signs Contract With Eutelsat to Launch Satellites Through 2023
    US to Launch Intelligence Satellites for National Reconnaissance Office
    Tags:
    rocket launch, Super Strypi, US
    Community standardsDiscussion