18:21 GMT +318 July 2019
Listen Live
    Tech

    Mission Control to Attempt Radio Contact With Progress Cargo Vessel

    Tech
    Get short URL
    0 13

    Russian specialists will attempt to contact the Progress cargo vessel that has a glitch in its telemetry system.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) – Russian specialists will attempt to make radio contact with the Progress cargo vessel that has a glitch in its telemetry system and is heading for the International Space Station on its next Earth orbit, a Mission Control source told RIA Novosti on Tuesday.

    “The vessel is currently outside the zone of radio contact with Russian ground systems. Contact with the vessel is possible starting from 11:30 a.m. Moscow time [08:30 GMT],” the source said.

    At 10:10 a.m. Moscow time (07:10 GMT) a Soyuz-2.1a carrier rocket blasted off from the Baikonur Space Center in Kazakhstan with 2.5 tons of cargo for the ISS and separated from its third-stage rocket on time.

    Related:

    Russian Soyuz Rocket Launched for ISS From Baikonur
    Russian Cosmonauts Take Tablet Computer Into Space on Latest Soyuz Mission
    Russia’s Soyuz Spacecraft Automatically Docks With ISS
    Soyuz Carrier With Two Galileo Satellites Launched From Kourou Spaceport
    Tags:
    space, Soyuz-2.1a carrier rocket, Progress M, International Space Station (ISS)
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik