14:38 GMT +317 January 2019
Listen Live
    Tech

    Russia Orbits Israeli Communications Satellite

    Tech
    Get short URL
    Russian Space Programs (128)
    0 13

    Russia has orbited an Israeli communications satellite, the Federal Space Agency reported Sunday.

    MOSCOW, September 1 (RIA Novosti) - Russia has orbited an Israeli communications satellite, the Federal Space Agency reported Sunday.

    The comsat was launched with the help of a Zenit-2SB carrier rocket at 00:05 Moscow Time Sunday (20:05 GMT Saturday) from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan.

    The Amos-4 satellite (Afro-Mediterranean Orbital System), manufactured by Israel Aerospace Industries Ltd., separated from the DM-SLB upper stage at 06:50 Moscow Time (02:50 GMT).

    It will provide DTH, VSAT and broadband Internet services to consumers in Russia, the Middle East, Southeast and Central Asia.

     

    Topic:
    Russian Space Programs (128)
    Tags:
    Baikonur space center, Zenit-2SB, Amos-4, Roscosmos, Kazakhstan
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik