08:02 GMT +323 May 2017
Live
    Tech

    Russia Launches European Meteo Satellite

    Tech
    Get short URL
    0 3410

    A Russian Soyuz-2.1a rocket carrying a European weather satellite lifted off on Monday from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan, Russia’s space agency Roscosmos said.

    A Russian Soyuz-2.1a rocket carrying a European weather satellite lifted off on Monday from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan, Russia’s space agency Roscosmos said.

    “The launch of the rocket with Fregat booster and MetOp-B satellite was carried out at 08.29 p.m. Moscow time [16.29 GMT],” a Roscosmos spokesman said.

    The satellite separated from the Fregat booster and reached a designated orbit at 09.37 p.m. Moscow time [17.37 GMT], as scheduled.

    MetOp-B is the second in a series of three European polar orbiting weather satellites, designed and manufactured by Astrium to provide a broad range of measurements vital to weather forecasting and climate monitoring.

    Its predecessor, MetOp-A, was orbited in October 2006. The last satellite in the series, MetOp-C, is expected to be launched in 2017.

    Weighing 4,100 kg, MetOp-B has been designed to operate in orbit for five years.

    Each MetOp satellite carries a set of instruments provided by the United States and a new generation of European instruments that offer improved remote sensing capabilities to both meteorologists and climatologists.

    They alone possess the capability to provide a continual flow of weather and climate data spanning the whole planet, according to the European Space Agency.

     

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik
    • Сomment