08:51 GMT +323 October 2017
Live
    Progress M cargo spacecraft

    Russia’s Spacecraft Docks with ISS Six Hrs After Liftoff

    © NASA.
    Tech
    Get short URL
    0 3 0 0

    Russia’s Progress class space freighter automatically docked with the International Space Station just six hours after blasting off from Earth, a spokesman for the Mission Control said on Thursday.

    Russia’s Progress class space freighter automatically docked with the International Space Station just six hours after blasting off from Earth, a spokesman for the Mission Control said on Thursday.

    A Soyuz-U rocket carrying the Progress-M-16M cargo spacecraft lifted off from the Baikonur Space Center in Kazakhstan at 11:35 p.m. Moscow time (19:35 GMT).

    The spacecraft docked with the ISS on the fourth revolution around Earth and six minutes ahead of the scheduled time that was set at 05:24 a.m. Moscow time (01:24 GMT).

    It was for the first time, when Russia docked the space freighter with the ISS in the first six hours after the launch rather than in two days, which was a routine procedure.

    Progress-M-16M delivered over 2.5 metric tons of supplies, including food, water and scientific equipment, to a six-man crew onboard the orbital station.

     

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik
    • Сomment