23:27 GMT +323 January 2019
Listen Live
    Progress M cargo spacecraft

    Russian cargo spacecraft Progress M-09M blasts off to ISS

    © NASA .
    Tech
    Get short URL
    0 10

    A Russian cargo spacecraft, Progress M-09M, lifted off toward the International Space Station (ISS) at 4:32 Moscow time [1:32 GMT] on Friday.

    A Russian cargo spacecraft, Progress M-09M, lifted off toward the International Space Station (ISS) at 4:32 Moscow time [1:32 GMT] on Friday, the Russian space agency Roscosmos said.

    It was launched from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on a Soyuz-U booster rocket. It separated 10 minutes later and successfully entered the designated orbit.

    The space freighter will deliver fuel, oxygen, food, books and birthday presents for Expedition 26 captain Scott J. Kelly of the United States, who turns 47 on February 21.

    The spaceship is to dock with the space station on January 30 at 5:40 Moscow time [2:40 GMT].

    Preparations have already been made for the module's arrival. Last year on December 22, Russia's Mission Control readjusted the ISS orbit, raising it by 4.2 kilometers (2.6 miles) to ensure the best conditions for the docking of the Progress M-09M freighter and the U.S. Discovery shuttle.

    Earlier in the week Russia's Progress M-08M cargo spacecraft was undocked from the ISS and was sunk in a remote area of the southern Pacific Ocean.

    Progress-family freighters have been the backbone of the Russian space cargo fleet for decades. In addition to their main mission as cargo spacecraft, they are used to adjust the ISS's orbit and conduct scientific experiments.

    MOSCOW, January 28 (RIA Novosti)

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik