05:49 GMT09 April 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    The Russian Foreign Ministry said Tuesday it had added five individuals to the list of former US officials banned from entry to Russia in response to the expansion of the so-called Magnitsky list by Washington.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) — "We are publishing the list of five US justice officials who are banned from entry to Russia in response anti-Russian policies conducted by Washington," the ministry said in a statement.

    The Russian black list included Alberto Gonzales, who served as US Attorney General in 2005-2007, Douglas Feith, US Undersecretary of Defense for Policy in 2001-2005, John Rizzo, Acting General Counsel of the CIA in 2001-2002 and 2004-2009, Jay Bybee, Assistant Attorney General in 2001-2003 and William Haynes, II, US Defense Department's General Counsel in 2001-2008.

    "The decision of Barack Obama's administration on the expansion of the so-called Magnitsky list delivers another blow to bilateral relations," the statement said.

    On February 1, the US government added five Russian individuals to the list of people sanctioned on the basis of the so-called Magnitsky Act, which allows the US Treasury to apply sanctions on dozens of Russian officials believed to be responsible for the death of Sergei Magnitsky in pre-trial detention.

    Magnitsky was a Russian lawyer who alleged official corruption at the highest levels of government.


    US Sanctions Two Russians for Post-Death Prosecution of Sergei Magnitsky
    US Sanctions Five Additional Russian Nationals Under Magnitsky Act
    US Federal Appeals Court Suspends First Lawsuit Filed Under Magnitsky Act
    US Senate Committee Passes Bill to Expand Magnitsky Act Globally
    travel ban, law, officials, black list, Russian Foreign Ministry, Sergei Magnitsky, United States, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via SputnikComment via Facebook