21:26 GMT12 August 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 283

    The first Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) integrated air-defense-system combat-training exercises kicked off near Moscow, the Russian Ministry of Defense announced Tuesday.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) The three-stage exercises dubbed "Combat Commonwealth-2015" incorporate five additional CIS members, including Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan.

    The ministry press service sai<bkmd ballistic missile defense systems and Russia’s Aerospace Defense Forces are on high combat readiness in the Moscow Region for the first stage of the drills.

    "To this end, around 20 military units of the CIS member states’ united air defense system were placed on high combat readiness on the first day of exercises," the ministry said.

    The ministry stated that over 1,000 servicemen, as well as over 200 units of equipment including S-400 "Triumf" (SA-21 Growler) and S-300 "Favorit" (SA-10 Grumble) anti-aircraft missile systems, will take part in the exercises.

    Aircraft, including the MiG-29 Fulcrum and MiG-31 Foxhound fighter jets, a fleet of Sukhoi multirole fighters, helicopters and other equipment are included in the exercises.

    The Combat Commonwealth-2015 training exercises will feature a second stage in the Ashuluk Range of Russia's southern Astrakhan Region, and are expected to wrap up on September 11.


    CIS, CSTO Members to Boost Military Ties in Face of Terrorism Threats
    CIS Security Chiefs to Discuss Islamic State Threat at Talks in Tajikistan
    Kazakhstan Presidential Elections are Transparent - CIS Observer
    drills, S-300, Commonwealth of Independent States, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion