Listen Live
    Russia

    Russia to launch Glonass satellites on Nov.4 - Roscosmos

    Russia
    Get short URL
    0 10
    Subscribe

    Russia will launch a Proton-M rocket carrying three Glonass navigation satellites from the Baikonur space center on Friday after a 24-hour delay due to technical reasons

    Russia will launch a Proton-M rocket carrying three Glonass navigation satellites from the Baikonur space center on Friday after a 24-hour delay due to technical reasons, a source in the Federal Space Agency Roscosmos said.

     

    It will be the first launch of a Proton-M rocket with Glonass satellites from Baikonur since the failed launch last year which destroyed three Glonass-Ms.

     

    “The launch is scheduled for 16:51 Moscow time [12:51 GMT] on Friday. The separation of the satellites is expected at 22:41 Moscow time [18:41 GMT],” the official said.

     

    The launch was postponed for a day on Thursday after a malfunction of the switching network was detected during a check of the ground-based equipment at the launch pad.

     

    Glonass is Russia's answer to the U.S. Global Positioning System, or GPS, and is designed for both military and civilian uses. Both systems allow users to determine their positions to within a few meters.

     

    Russia currently has a total of 27 Glonass satellites in orbit, although only 23 of them are operational.

     

    According to Roscosmos, two Glonass satellites are under maintenance, one is on a standby, and one recently launched satellite is being integrated into the grouping.

     

    The complete Glonass grouping needs 24 functioning and 2-3 reserve satellites to operate with global coverage.

     

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik