11:13 GMT31 March 2020
Listen Live
    Russia

    Russia successfully launches space freighter to ISS

    Russia
    Get short URL
    0 0 0
    Subscribe

    Russia has launched a Progress M-02M cargo spacecraft from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on a resupply mission to the International Space Station (ISS), a spokesman for Russia's space agency Roscosmos has said.

    MOSCOW, May 8 (RIA Novosti) - Russia has launched a Progress M-02M cargo spacecraft from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on a resupply mission to the International Space Station (ISS), a spokesman for Russia's space agency Roscosmos has said.

    Progress M-02M took off Thursday at 22:37 Moscow time (18:37GMT) on board a Soyuz-U carrier rocket and separated from the rocket nine minutes later.

    "According to our data, the separation was successful. The Progress has been switched to an automatic flight regime," the official said.

    He added that it would take the spacecraft five days instead of the usual two to reach the ISS because a series of flight tests was planned.

    The freighter is equipped with an on-board digital control system, and is the second in a new series to replace the analog-controlled Progress spacecraft.

    The ship will deliver 2.5 tons of cargo to the ISS, including a new Orlan-MK spacesuit, food, fresh fruit and vegetables, medical and scientific equipment.

    Docking with the ISS is scheduled for May 12 at 23:23 Moscow time (19:23GMT), the spokesman said.

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via SputnikComment via Facebook