16:00 GMT +323 October 2019
Listen Live
    View from Sevastopol embankment

    Ukraine, Georgia Join EU Decision on Extending Sanctions Against Crimea

    © Sputnik /
    Get short URL

    Ukraine and Georgia, along with Albania, Montenegro and Norway, join the EU decision to prolong sanctions against Crimea for another year, EU High Representative Federica Mogherini said in a statement Friday.

    BRUSSELS (Sputnik) – On June 19, the European Council announced that the EU member states' foreign ministers had extended sanctions against Crimea by one year that were due to expire in late June this year. The unilateral measures ban EU persons as well as EU-based companies from importing goods from the peninsula, as well as from investing in it among other restrictions.

    "On 19 June 2017, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2017/1087. The Council Decision extends the restrictive measures until 23 June 2018. The Candidate Countries Montenegro and Albania, and the EFTA [European Free Trade Association] country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia align themselves with this Declaration. They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision," the statement said.

    The statement noted that the bloc welcomed the move.

    Crimea rejoined Russia in 2014 after almost 96 percent of its voters supported the move through a referendum held in March 2014. Kiev, as well as Brussels and Washington, did not recognize the referendum results. Russian authorities have repeatedly said that the Crimean residents decided to rejoin Russia in a democratic procedure and that the referendum was conducted in compliance with the international law.


    Siemens Denies Transferring Turbines to Crimea Despite EU Sanctions
    Czech Republic Stands Up to the EU, Helps Crimea Amid Water Shortage
    EU Publishes Decision on Extending Anti-Crimea Sanctions by 1 Year
    Kremlin Disagrees With EU's Extended Anti-Crimea Sanctions
    anti-Russian sanctions, European Union, Federica Mogherini, Ukraine, Georgia, Crimea
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik