09:34 GMT +316 December 2018
Listen Live
    View of the Estonian Parliament. (File)

    Three-Party Coalition Government Formed in Estonia - Parliament

    © AFP 2018 / RAIGO PAJULA
    Get short URL
    0 36

    The leaders of three Estonian parties agreed on Monday to form a coalition government, the parliament's press service said.

    TALLINN (Sputnik) — Earlier this month, the Estonian parliament voted for resignation of Prime Minister Taavi Roivas, and the country's Centrist Party, Social Democratic Party (SDE) and Union of Pro Patria and Res Publica (IRL) started negotiations on forming a new government.

    "The signatures under the agreement were put by the leader of the Centrist Party, the candidate for the candidate for prime minister, Juri Ratas, IRL chairman Margus Tsahkna and the head of SDE, Eugene Osinovsky," the parliament's press service said in a statement.

    According to the coalition agreement, each party will get five ministerial posts.

    Under the agreement, the coalition will continue the foreign and internal policy implemented by the previous government. The agreement also emphasizes that Estonia's EU and NATO membership and the regarding partnerships are the most important guarantees of the country's security and prosperity.


    France to Deploy 300 Soldiers, 5 Tanks to Estonia in 2017
    Estonia Accuses Russia of Violating Country’s Airspace 2 Times on Tuesday
    NATO Combat Aircraft to Continue Drill Flights Over Estonia
    coalition, government, Estonia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik