08:28 GMT21 June 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    Western Sanctions Against Russia (737)

    Canada added two more individuals and 10 more entities into the sanctions list.

    WASHINGTON (Sputnik) — The Canadian government has expanded economic measures against Russia by adding two more individuals and 10 additional entities to the sanctions list, Canada’s Department of Global Affairs said in an updated list of regulations on Friday.

    The sanctioned individuals are Eduard Ioffe and Alexander Omelchenko, while designated entities include Izhevsky Mekhanichesky Zavod, Tekhnopromexport and Mosoblbank, according to the amended regulations.

    Canada’s Minister of Foreign Affairs Stephane Dion said Ottawa intends to keep in place sanctions against Russia until Moscow fully implements the Minsk agreements to settle the conflict in eastern Ukraine.

    "As agreed by G7 leaders, Canada believes sanctions should not be lifted until Russia fully implements its commitments under the Minsk agreements," Dion stated in a press release.

    In February 2015, Ukraine, Russia, France and Germany worked out a ceasefire deal in Minsk, later signed by Kiev and the Donbass militias. Despite the fact the agreement was reached over a year ago, both sides have repeatedly violated the deal.

    Western Sanctions Against Russia (737)


    NATO Chief: West Should Keep Sanctions Pressure on Russia Over Ukraine
    Hmeymim Opposition to Discuss Draft Constitution, Sanctions With Mistura
    EU to Further Impose Sanctions Against Russia Over Crimea - Mogherini
    Kremlin Not Commenting on Response to Non-Existent Savchenko List Sanctions
    sanctions, Canada, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion