22:15 GMT28 February 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    Major Migrant Crisis in Europe (1819)

    EU interior ministers will meet in Amsterdam on Monday to discuss emergency measures that could pave the way for extending border controls within the Schengen free-travel zone.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) — Amid a massive refugee crisis a number of European countries, including Austria, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Germany and France, reintroduced temporary border controls to curb migration.

    The reintroduced border checks are due to expire in May, at which point the countries will be obliged to either lift the measures or extend them for a maximum period of two years.

    "[The] interior ministers will on Monday in Amsterdam have the opportunity to discuss [the suspension of the Schengen Agreement]… and it's on the agenda what steps should be taken or will need to be taken once we near the end of the maximum period in May," European Commission spokeswoman Natasha Bertaud said at a press briefing last week.

    Under current Schengen rules, a EU member country is allowed to restrict entry only temporarily. Free travel within the bloc is a fundamental principle of the European Union.

    Major Migrant Crisis in Europe (1819)


    End of the Road? Euro May Go Under if Schengen Dissolves
    Vienna Says Violence Outbreak Possible Over Measures to Reduce Migrant Flow
    EU Under Threat Amid Calls for Schengen Free Travel Zone to Be Abolished
    Interior Ministry: Germany to Continue Border Control Due to Migrant Inflow
    Schengen visas, Schengen borders, Schengen area, border control, European Union
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via SputnikComment via Facebook