23:07 GMT08 August 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    Russia Responds to Western Sanctions (218)

    Montenegro, Albania, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Ukraine will get a reciprocal response from Russia for imposing sanctions, according to the Kremlin spokesperson.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) — The principle of reciprocity will be implemented with regard to those countries which impose anti-Russia sanctions, Kremlin spokesperson Dmitry Peskov said Thursday.

    Montenegro, Albania, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Ukraine joined the Western anti-Russia sanction regime on Thursday.

    "Well, of course they can. And we reiterate, that, naturally, the principle of reciprocity is fundamental," Peskov told journalists when asked whether retaliatory measures would be implemented against countries that joined the anti-Russia sanctions.

    Russia’s official diplomatic relations with the West have deteriorated amid the Ukrainian crisis.

    The United States, the European Union and their allies imposed several rounds of economic, financial and technological sanctions on Russia over alleged meddling in Ukraine’s internal affairs. Russia has repeatedly denied the assertions, and has responded to the sanctions with a food import ban.

    Moscow has repeatedly stressed that it would reply to all restrictions with reciprocity.

    Russia Responds to Western Sanctions (218)


    Top 100 Ranking: Russia's Defense Industry Hits New High Amid Sanctions
    Moscow's Counter-Sanctions Undermine EU Domestic Markets - Activist
    Swiss Companies Hit by Anti-Russian Sanctions
    West Looking to Shut Off Ways Russia Could Bypass Sanctions - Reports
    sanctions, Dmitry Peskov, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion