20:09 GMT05 August 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    2015 BRICS, SCO Summits in Russia's Ufa (73)
    0 83

    Russian President Vladimir Putin stated that Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, and Nepal joined the SCO family "as partners in dialogue."

    UFA (Sputnik) – Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Armenia, and Nepal have been admitted to the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) on a partner status, Russian President Vladimir Putin said Friday.

    "Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, and Nepal have joined the SCO family as partners in dialogue," Putin said during his opening speech at the extended meeting of SCO’s Heads of Governments Council in the Russian city of Ufa.

    Earlier, the SCO had three dialogue partners — Belarus, Sri Lanka and Turkey.

    The SCO summit launched the procedures to accept new members, India and Pakistan, the president added. India and Pakistan, currently holding observer status in the organization, applied to join the SCO as full members in September 2014.

    The SCO is a political, economic and military alliance founded in 2001 by Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

    2015 BRICS, SCO Summits in Russia's Ufa (73)


    SCO Must Develop Measures to React to Threats Against Member States
    India, Pakistan Most Likely to Become SCO Members Friday
    Kiev Request For SCO Partner Status Still in Force
    Belarus to Strengthen SCO, Enlarge Agenda as New Observer State - SCO Head
    Shanghai Cooperation Organization, Vladimir Putin, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion