00:35 GMT28 January 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    The Canadian government expanded Monday the list of anti-Russia sanctions, adding three individuals and 14 legal entities, according to a statement published on the prime minister's website.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) — According to the amendments published on the website of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada, the companies added to the blacklist include Russian energy giants Gazprom, Gazprom Neft, Surgutneftegas and Transneft as well as the Night Wolves Motorcycle Club.

    “Our Government is… announcing additional sanctions and travel bans against Russian individuals, and economic sanctions against Russian entities, as well as a Crimean import/export ban,” the statement said.

    Canada introduced its sanctions or the so-called Special Economic Measures against Russia on March 17, 2014 following the Crimean referendum, when the majority of voters backed the peninsula's reunification with Russia.

    Since then the blacklist was expanded three times. At the moment it includes 91 individuals and 57 companies.

    In August 2014, Russia responded to the Western restrictions by announcing a year-long ban on certain agricultural imports from the countries that imposed sanctions against it, including Canada.

    Earlier this week, in light of European Union's decision to prolong the anti-Russia sanctions, the Russian government has prolonged its import ban for another year.


    Russia, Germany Need to Facilitate Dialogue on Easing Sanctions - Economist
    Anti-Russian Sanctions Put 150,000 Jobs in Germany at Risk
    Putin Announces Russian Counter-Sanctions to be Extended for One Year
    anti-Russian sanctions, Transneft, Gazprom, Night Wolves, Crimea, Russia, Canada
    Community standardsDiscussion