07:11 GMT02 December 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 34

    SCO Security Council's participants will discuss security issues in light of the changing situation in neighboring regions.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) At the 10th meeting of the Secretaries of the Security Council of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) member states, scheduled to take place in Moscow on Tuesday, participants will discuss security issues in light of the changing situation in neighboring regions.

    The SCO comprises Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

    Apart from the SCO member states, the meeting will be attended by the representatives of SCO observer states – Afghanistan, India, Iran, Mongolia and Pakistan.

    The press service of Russia's Security Council said that the sides are planning to discuss "issues of ensuring security in the SCO area in the light of changing situation in the regions adjacent to SCO."

    The Shanghai Cooperation Organization is a permanent intergovernmental body aimed at promoting cooperation between its members in the spheres of politics, trade, security, science, energy, and culture. The SCO's main goals include promoting security and stability in the region.


    Putin to Meet With SCO Security Council Secretaries
    Tehran Membership in SCO to Boost Iran Economic Ties With Asia
    SCO Strengthens Cooperation With Iran After Vienna Talks
    Shanghai Cooperation Organization, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, China, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion