20:22 GMT03 June 2020
Listen Live

    India’s Prime Minister Modi Expands Cabinet, Inducts 21 New Ministers

    Get short URL
    0 35

    Modi has inducted four new cabinet ministers, three state ministers with independent charges and fourteen state minister.

    NEW DELHI, November 9 (RIA Novosti) — Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi inducted a total of 21 new ministers on Sunday in his first Cabinet expansion since assuming office in May, a RIA Novosti correspondent reported.

    Modi has inducted four new cabinet ministers, three state ministers with independent charges and fourteen state ministers at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan, the official residence of the President of India in New Delhi.

    Among the cabinet ministers sworn in are a member of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the former Chief Minister of the state of Goa Manohar Parrikar, former parliamentarian Suresh Prabhu, BJP's national general secretary JP Nadda and Birender Singh, former General Secretary of All India Congress Committee.

    Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Bandaru Dattatrey and Mahesh Sharma, all — senior members of BJP were inducted as state ministers with independent charges.

    Narendra Modi was sworn in as India's Prime Minister on May 26, 10 days after his right-wing Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won national elections in a landslide, promising the long-awaited economic reforms including a pledge to create jobs for 1 million people entering India's workforce every month and provide the legislative framework for goods and services tax.


    Modi Vows to Bring Black Money Back to India: Reports
    India’s Right-wing BJP Party Wins Elections in Two Strategically Important States: Modi
    Indian Security Officials Suspended After Finding Defused Grenade in Modi's Standby Plane
    Obama, Modi Discuss Trade, Climate, Counter-Terrorism Cooperation
    US, India to Discuss Economic Growth, Security, Syria During Modi's Visit: Reports
    Bharatiya Janata party (BJP), Narendra Modi, India
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via SputnikComment via Facebook