14:02 GMT06 April 2020
Listen Live
    © AFP 2020 / Marco Bertorello
    Argentina and Barcelona forward Lionel Messi (C) is presented by FIFA President Gianni Infantino (L) with the trophy for the Best FIFA Men's Player of 2019 Award, during The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony, on 23 September 2019 in Milan.

    Lionel Messi, Barcelona football club's star forward, received the 2019 Best FIFA Men's Player award on Monday.

    Lionel Messi has won this year's Best FIFA Men's Player award, defeating  Portuguese-born Cristiano Ronaldo from Italy’s FC Juventus as well as the Dutch defender Virgil van Dijk from England’s FC Liverpool.

    In the 2018-2019 season, Messi scored 51 goals in Barcelona’s 50 matches.

    This is a record sixth Best FIFA Men's Player award for Messi, who also received the prize in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015. Cristiano Ronaldo won this award five times.


    Messi Spills Out About Possible Dinner With Ronaldo Amid Rumours of Rivalry
    award, FIFA, Lionel Messi
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via SputnikComment via Facebook

    More photos