17:08 GMT +320 September 2018
Listen Live
    Onlinenews (archive)


    Onlinenews (archive)
    Get short URL
    0 0 0
    MOSCOW, January 26 (RIA Novosti) - Russian Defense Minister Sergei Ivanov has become first deputy chairman of the Victory Committee.

    Alexei Gromov, the press secretary of the Russian President told RIA Novosti that Vladimir Putin had signed a decree under which Sergei Ivanov, who was earlier a member of the Victory Committee has become its first deputy chairman.

    The press secretary explained that the President was asked about it by the war veterans with whom he met at the Defense Ministry in December last year.

    The Victory Committee was set up in 2000 to immortalize the memory of the defenders of the Fatherland. Its members are representatives of the state authority, prominent politicians, scientists, servicemen, public and religious leaders. The committee is headed by the President of the Russian Federation.

    In 2005, Russia will mark the 60th anniversary of the Victory in the Great Patriotic War against German Nazism in 1941-1945.

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik
    • Сomment