05:27 GMT20 October 2020
Listen Live
    Military & Intelligence
    Get short URL

    Seeking the diplomatic means to discourage Pyongyang from test-firing additional ballistic missiles and detonating more nuclear weapons, Japan, South Korea and the United States are floating the idea of banning Pyongyang’s fishing rights in the region, according to a diplomatic source.

    A source in the ongoing negotiations suggested on Wednesday that an announcement would soon be made by the United States, Japan and South Korea, threatening to prevent North Korea from selling the rights to other nations to fish in its own coastal waters, if the increasingly isolated country conducts another underground detonation of a nuclear bomb, or launches another ballistic missile into the Sea of Japan, according to Yonhap.

    The proposed fishing rights ban, under the auspices of a UN Security Council sanction, would be intended to further limit cash flow in the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), monies that are believed by the US State Department to be funneled primarily into the development of deadly weapons, including nuclear bombs.

    Following a Tuesday meeting of envoys from the three countries, South Korean diplomat Kim Hong-kyun said that it had been agreed that they would engage in "unbearably strong punitive action" if the DPRK fires another ballistic missile or detonates another nuclear weapon, according to the Korea Times.

    North Korea has previously sold to China the rights to fish in Pyongyang's waters, and the proposed sanctions would annul that right, a move some say is risky and not guaranteed to succeed unless China, a permanent member of the UN Security Council, participates.


    North Korea Ready to ‘Go to the End’ in Confrontation With US - Mission to UN
    Officials Advise Citizens What to Do if North Korea Nukes Japan
    US Strike Against North Korea Unlikely With China Onboard
    ballistic missile launches, nuclear weapons, international sanctions, sanctions, fishing, sanctions, UN Security Council, United Nations Security Council, UN, United States, America, Japan, South Korea, Democratic Republic of North Korea (DPRK), China
    Community standardsDiscussion