09:54 GMT +323 September 2019
Listen Live
    A serviceman stands near an S-300 surface-to-air missile system. (File)

    Russia, Armenia Sign Agreement to Create Joint Regional Air Defense Systems

    © Sputnik / Ramil Sitdikov
    Military & Intelligence
    Get short URL

    The Russian and Armenian defense ministers on Wednesday signed an agreement on creating a joint regional air defense system in the Caucasus.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) – Russia is currently working on the creation of a similar system with Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. A contract on creating a joint regional air defense system was signed between Russia and Kazakhstan in 2013, and Russia and Belarus’s systems have already been unified.

    Aerospace Forces Commander-in-Chief, Lt. Gen. Pavel Kurachenko, has estimated the regional air defense system incorporates 19 aviation units, 47 antiaircraft missile units, 19 radio-technical units and three separate electronic warfare battalions.

    The Russian Defense Ministry's Southern Military District delivered six modern attack Mi-24P and transport Mi-8MT helicopters to its Erebuni base in Armenia on Monday. Two weeks earlier, seven Mi-24s and Mi-8MT were deployed to the base 7.5 miles southwest of the Armenian capital of Yerevan.

    The Russian and Armenian ministers additionally signed a 2016 defense cooperation agreement.


    Russia Sends Attack, Transport Helicopters to Air Base in Armenia
    Gazprom, Iran Working on Gas Exchange Operations for Armenia Gas Supplies
    Armenia to Start New Talks With EU on Common Agreement Monday
    defense cooperation, Armenia, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik