23:50 GMT17 May 2021
Listen Live
    Middle East
    Get short URL

    Syrian Idlib Safe Zone's states-guarantors discussed the agreement implementation terms.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) — Three states, which are the guarantors of the Syrian ceasefire — Turkey, Iran and Russia — are discussing the implementation of the agreement on de-escalation zone in the Syrian Idlib province and will start to implement it soon, Turkish presidential spokesman Ibrahim Kalin said Thursday.

    "Over the last few days, active discussions on Idlib have been taking place with the Russian and Iranian sides … The general framework of the [Idlib] issue has already been worked through. In the coming days, concrete steps will be taken in this direction," Kalin said, as quoted by the Anadolu news agency.

    During September's round of Astana talks, Moscow, Ankara and Tehran, agreed on all four de-escalation zones in Syria. The sides also reached agreement on rules of operation in buffer zones, checkpoints and observation posts, as well as rules of engagement for units of the de-escalation control force.


    Next in Line: What al-Nusra Should Now Fear the Most in Its Idlib Stronghold
    Russia to Support Armed Groups Fighting Nusra Front in Syria's Idlib - Lavrov
    Turkey Asks Russia to Mediate at Meetings on Idlib De-escalation Zone - Source
    Russian MoD Denies Reports of 150 Civilian Deaths in Idlib Airstrikes
    guarantor, safe zones, agreement, Ibrahim Kalin, Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Idlib, Iran, Turkey, Syria, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion