09:00 GMT04 December 2020
Listen Live
    Middle East
    Get short URL
    0 45

    The Syrian armed forces announced the ceasefire regime in Eastern Ghouta starting Saturday noon, the local media reported.

    The ceasefire is reported to come in force at 12 p.m. local time on Saturday (09:00 GMT), the SANA news agency reported.

    According to the report, the Syrian forces reserve the right to respond to any violation of the ceasefire regime in Eastern Ghouta.

    Earlier in the day, the Russian Ministry of Defense said that the agreements on functioning of Eastern Ghouta de-escalation zone in Syria were signed.

    Syrian armed opposition group Jaysh al-Islam confirmed the agreement on de-escalation zone.

    On July 7, Lavrov announced that experts from Russia, the United States and Jordan agreed on a memorandum on the establishment of a de-escalation zone in Syria's southwestern provinces following the first face-to-face meeting between Russian President Vladimir Putin and his US counterpart Donald Trump. The ceasefire came into force on July 9.

    Russia, Iran and Turkey are guarantors of the Syrian ceasefire regime. The countries signed a memorandum on the establishment of four safe zones in Syria, which came into force on May 6. The four zones span the northwestern Idlib province and parts of the neighboring Latakia, Hama and Aleppo, the north of the central Homs province, Eastern Ghouta near Damascus, as well as southern Daraa and Quneitra regions.


    Lavrov Strikes Back at CIA's Pompeo, Questions Legality of US Bases in Syria
    Lavrov: Russia-US De-Escalation Zone Parameters in Syria Discussed, Details Left
    US 'Overtures' With Syrian Rebels 'Can Lead to Unforeseen Consequences' - Moscow
    zone, de-escalation, ceasefire, East Ghouta, Syria
    Community standardsDiscussion