04:46 GMT26 February 2021
Listen Live
    Middle East
    Get short URL
    Persian Gulf Disarray: a Number of States Sever Relations With Qatar (238)
    0 56

    The Egyptian Foreign Ministry said Monday it had given Qatar's ambassador 48 hours to leave the Arab republic following a diplomatic rift that saw Cairo sever diplomatic relations with Doha alongside six other Gulf and Arab states.

    CAIRO (Sputnik) — On June 5, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and the United Arab Emirates severed diplomatic relations with Qatar. The states accused Qatar of supporting terrorist groups, particularly the Muslim Brotherhood terrorist movement, as well as of interfering in other countries' domestic affairs. Libya made a similar decision. Yemen cut diplomatic relations citing Doha's links with Houthis. The Maldives took the same step, citing extremism and terrorism concerns.

    "The Qatari ambassador was summoned to the Foreign Ministry, where he was notified of the decision to sever diplomatic relations, handed an official note on the completion of his accreditation as the ambassador to Egypt. He was given 48 hours to leave the country," the Egyptian ministry said in a statement.

    The ministry added that Egypt's charge d'affaires in Doha was also ordered to return to Cairo within 48 hours.

    Persian Gulf Disarray: a Number of States Sever Relations With Qatar (238)


    The Maldives' Gov't Explains Why It Severs Diplomatic Relations With Qatar
    Flydubai, Emirates Suspend Flights to Qatar Amid Diplomatic Row
    Turkey 'Saddened' by Gulf States' Decision to Cut Ties With Qatar
    Lavrov on Qatar Crisis: Russia Needs Friendly Ties With Everyone in Middle East
    Egyptian Foreign Ministry, Qatar, Egypt
    Community standardsDiscussion