10:20 GMT27 February 2021
Listen Live
    Middle East
    Get short URL
    Memorandum on Safe Zones in Syria (89)

    The warring parties in the Syrian conflict will not be able to use any weapons in the zones of de-escalation in Syria, as well as will not be able to conduct airstrikes, the memorandum signed by ceasefire guarantor states in Astana reads.

    ASTANA (Sputnik) — On May 4, Russia, Turkey and Iran, the Syrian ceasefire guarantor states, adopted a memorandum on four safe zones in the country.

    "Within the borders of de-escalation zones military actions between the warring sides (the Syrian government and the formations of the armed opposition that have already joined or will join the ceasefire regime) stop, including the use of any weapons, including airstrikes," the guarantor states' memorandum signed in Astana reads.

    The civil war in Syria has been lasting for around six years with government troops fighting against numerous opposition factions and terror organizations such as al-Nusra Front and Daesh, outlawed in Russia.

    The nationwide Syrian ceasefire regime was introduced on December 30, 2016. Terrorist organizations are not part of the ceasefire.

    Memorandum on Safe Zones in Syria (89)


    Damascus Welcomes Memorandum on Safe Zones in Syria
    Safe Zones Memorandum May 'Lead to Fundamental Changes' in Syria - Tehran
    Iran Supports Memorandum on Safe Zones in Syria - Adviser to Foreign Minister
    Russia Could Deploy More Military Police to Syria if Safe Zones Created
    safe zones, airstrike, The Syrian war, Syria
    Community standardsDiscussion