06:06 GMT15 July 2020
Listen Live
    Latin America
    Get short URL

    Brazil's national capital hosts the regular summit of BRICS member states — Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa. The goal of the association of five major emerging economies is to advance multipolarity in the international arena.

    'BRICS: Economic Growth for an Innovative Future' is the main topic of the summit. The leaders of the nations - Brazil's Jair Bolsonaro, Russia's Vladimir Putin, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, China’s Xi Jinping, and South Africa's Cyril Ramaphosa - will discuss economic cooperation, joint measures on fighting crimes in different spheres, and mutually beneficial projects.

    The meeting takes place in both open and closed formats.

    Follow Sputnik's Feed to Find Out More

    multipolarity, Brazil, BRICS summit
    Community standardsDiscussion