12:08 GMT30 July 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 11

    Uttar Pradesh, India's most populous state with over 222 million people, sends the largest number of MPs - 80 - to India's parliament. As state assembly elections are less than eight months away and the governing BJP is seeking to retain power, opposition parties are leaving no stone unturned in their bid to dethrone the Yogi Adityanath government.

    Uttar Pradesh's governing Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the main opposition Samajwadi Party have engaged in a poster war, targeting each other in the launch of intense political campaigns for next year's assembly elections. The BJP state unit on Tuesday put up posters saying "2022 Mein Khela Na Hoye" (No Game in 2022). 

    ​The elections for the 403 assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh are scheduled for early 2022, along with four other Indian states - Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa, and Manipur. 

    The BJP's poster was put up in response to the Samajwadi Party erecting banners across the state with the tagline "2022 Mein Khela Hoi" ("Game On in 2022") in the state

    Game On! 

    On Tuesday, West Bengal chief Mamata Banerjee also announced that her government would celebrate "Khela Hobe" day. 

    ​Khela Hobe (Game On), a Bengali term, first emerged in the West Bengal state assembly election, held during March-April this year. West Bengal's governing Trinamool Congress (TMC) and opposition Bharatiya Janata Party used the slogan in their political campaign, hoarding posters and jingles.

    Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Mamata Banerjee both used the term to challenge each other in their political rallies. 

    With growing popularity among the masses, many companies are now using Khela Hobe (Game On) as their tagline to increase the sale of their products in West Bengal.


    BJP Set for Comfortable Win In Uttar Pradesh Poll, Says Actor-Turned-Parliamentarian Ravi Kishan
    Modi's BJP is Sinking Ship in Uttar Pradesh, Says Prominent Backward Community Leader Rajbhar
    Ahead of State Polls, Former Uttar Pradesh Chief, BSP Leader Mayawati Announces Party to Fight Solo
    India, Indians, Indians, Uttar Pradesh, Narendra Modi, Narendra Modi, West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee, Yogi Adityanath, Bharatiya Janata party (BJP), Sputnik, Sputnik, Sputnik, Sputnik, Sputnik V, Sputnik News
    Community standardsDiscussion