03:48 GMT17 May 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 12

    West Bengal is among the five states in the country that have been holding assembly elections since 27 March. The elections held in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam, and Puducherry have been divided into eight phases, and the results will be declared on 2 May.

    Two crude bombs were thrown in India’s West Bengal state on Thursday morning; today (29 April) the last phase of ongoing legislative assembly elections began in central Kolkata’s Jorasanko Assembly area.

    In this eighth and last phase of assembly elections, 8.4 million people spread across 35 Assembly constituencies are expected to elect their representatives from a total of 283 candidates. Voting is being held at 11,860 polling stations.

    Local media reports said the crude pipe bombs were hurled in front of Mahajati Sadan in the Jorasanko Assembly area. It prompted the state’s ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate from that area  Vivek Gupta to allege that it was done to scare away potential voters.

    Meanwhile, earlier in the day Prime Minister Narendra Modi appealed to voters to "enrich the festival of democracy".

    ​Federal Home Minister Amit Shah who campaigned with full force in Bengal, on Thursday appealed to voters to cast their votes in large numbers and with full enthusiasm. 


    Five Dead as Voting in India's West Bengal Turns Violent
    Several Injured as Workers of State-Ruling TMC, BJP Clash in India's West Bengal Amid Polls - Video
    India's West Bengal Witnesses 6th Phase of Assembly Elections Amid Violence, Rising COVID Cases
    Kolkata, West Bengal, elections, elections, Elections, election, election, Electors, election, Election, Indians, Indians, India
    Community standardsDiscussion