23:22 GMT28 January 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 12

    A press conference is being held after three Conservative parliamentarians, namely Heidi Allen, Sarah Wollaston and Anna Soubry, resigned from the ruling Tory Party.

    The lawmakers left the party to join eight former Labour MPs in the new Independent Group. The Independent Group now has 11 MP members  more than the Liberal Democrats.

    Earlier in the week, eight Labour MPs quit the party saying they no longer had confidence in leader Jeremy Corbyn, warning that the party had been "hijacked" by the far left.

    Follow Sputnik Feed to Find Out More!

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik