23:55 GMT12 July 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    ATHENS (Sputnik) - The Greek Parliament ratified by a narrow margin on Friday the protocol on Northern Macedonia's accession to NATO, according to the results of the vote.

    The protocol was backed by 153 lawmakers in the 300-seat legislative body, with 140 lawmakers voting against it and one lawmaker abstaining from the vote.

    Macedonian flag in front of the government building in Skopje, Macedonia (File)
    © AP Photo / Boris Grdanoski
    With the completion of the ratification process of the NATO accession protocol by all 29 NATO member states, the Republic of Macedonia, which has been recently renamed to the Republic of Northern Macedonia, will become a fully-fledged member of NATO with the right to vote on all decisions of the Alliance.

    READ MORE: Author Decries Macedonia Signing NATO Accession Protocol

    Until June 2018, the name dispute had prevented Macedonia from pursuing membership in NATO and the European Union. Skopje and Athens agreed on a new name, the Republic of North Macedonia. The deal, however, resulted in mass rallies in both countries, with at least 60,000 Macedonians protesting the name change in January.


    Greek Parliament to Begin Heated Discussions of Name Change Deal With Macedonia
    Greek Parliament Shifts Vote on Macedonia Name Change to Friday - Reports
    Contentious Vote on Macedonia Name Change & Stepping Stone for NATO in W Balkans
    Over 60% of Greeks Oppose Prespa Deal on Macedonia’s Name Change – Poll
    protocol, vote, European Union, NATO, Greek parliament, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Macedonia, Greece
    Community standardsDiscussion