22:45 GMT18 June 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    The decision to introduce a 5-euro ($5.36) fee for tourists arriving in the Schengen Area from non-EU countries that have a visa-free regime with the European Union is expected to be issued by the European Commission on November 16, according to a source.

    BRUSSELS (Sputnik) – The European Commission is going to introduce a 5-euro ($5.36) fee for tourists arriving in the Schengen Area from non-EU countries that have a visa-free regime with the European Union, a source told RIA Novosti on Wednesday.

    "The decision is expected to be issued by the European Commission on Wednesday," the source said.

    Travellers queue for passport control at Stockholm airport Arlanda
    © AFP 2021 / Henrik Montgomery
    The fee will be a prat of the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS), an automated system collecting data about visa-exempt travelers.

    The system will gather the information on travelers prior to their trip and assess whether such travel poses a security or migration risk for the EU member states.


    Kiev 'Humiliated, Betrayed' as Dutch, EU Stall Association, Visa-Free Travel
    EU Parliament to Sign Visa-Free Regime With Ukraine Until November 24
    EC Calls on EU States to Determine Visa Waiver Mechanism With Turkey
    Turkey Meets All But Terror Law Conditions to Ease EU Visa Restrictions
    visa-free regime, European Commission, European Union
    Community standardsDiscussion