11:50 GMT06 June 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    The Latvian National Armed Forces (NBS) said on Sunday that they had registered four aircraft of Russia's Aerospace Forces in the airspace near the borders of the Baltic nation.

    RIGA (Sputnik) — The Baltic states of Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania do not possess air patrol capabilities. Since joining NATO in 2004, the three countries' airspace has been defended by a rotating NATO mission.

    "On May 29, 2 Russian Su-27 [fighter aircraft] and 2 An-26 [transport aircraft] were identified over the neutral waters of the Baltic Sea near the territorial waters of the Republic of Latvia," the NBS said on their Twitter account.

    NATO and its Baltic member states have accused Russia over the last years of multiple sorties in the Baltic region as relations between the West and Russia soured over Ukraine.

    In response, Moscow said that these allegations distract public attention from the increased NATO military presence in the Baltic and along western Russian borders.


    Pondering Power Projection: What Type of Aircraft Carrier Does Russia Need?
    Greek Aerospace to be Off-Limits to Libyan Aircraft During NATO Operations
    Vietnam May Purchase US Military Aircraft Once Embargo Lifted
    Su-27, NATO, Latvia, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via SputnikComment via Facebook