02:06 GMT +318 November 2019
Listen Live
    Schengen sign

    European Commission Proposes to Abolish Visas With Ukraine

    © Flickr/ Arno Langenfeld
    Get short URL

    Once the proposal is adopted, Ukrainians who hold biometric passports will no longer need visas for trips of up to 90 days to the Schengen area.

    BRUSSELS (Sputnik) — The European Commission on Wednesday made a proposal to the Council of the European Union and the European Parliament to add Ukraine to the list of countries whose citizens can travel to the Schengen area without a visa, the Commission said in a statement.

    "Today we follow up on our commitment to propose short-stay visa-free travel to the EU for Ukrainian citizens with biometric passports – facilitating people-to-people contacts and strengthening business, social and cultural ties between the EU and Ukraine,” Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship Dimitris Avramopoulos said, as quoted in the statement on the EU Commission's website.

    According to the statement, once the proposal is adopted, Ukrainians who hold biometric passports will no longer need visas for trips of up to 90 days to the Schengen area. The visa-free travel will not apply to Ireland and the United Kingdom, as well as four Schengen associated countries — Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, the statement added.

    Last December, the European Commission gave a positive assessment, confirming that Ukraine successfully met all benchmark requirements necessary to abolish the visa regime with the bloc.


    Migrant Mayhem: Europe Sits on the Fence as Barriers Divide Schengen Area
    Internal EU Border Controls Consistent With Schengen Rules
    Sweden to Extend Tough Border Control With Schengen States
    Euroskeptics Blame Schengen After Brussels Attack as EU Tightens Borders
    visa-free regime, Schengen Zone, European Union, European Commission, Dimitris Avramopoulos, Ukraine
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik