00:35 GMT +321 July 2019
Listen Live
    Syrian refugees struggle to enter Macedonia through a narrow border crossing as Macedonian policemen try to shut a metal gate near to the Greek village of Idomeni December 4, 2015

    Macedonia Reopens Border for Refugees Heading to Germany, Austria

    © REUTERS / Yannis Behrakis
    Get short URL
    Major Migrant Crisis in Europe (1819)
    0 75

    Macedonia is again opening up its borders to refugees who wish to pass through its territory to seek asylum in Austria or Germany, the country's interior ministry announced Thursday.

    BELGRADE (Sputnik) – On Wednesday, Macedonia temporarily shut its borders to refugees after receiving a corresponding request from the Slovenian government.

    Serbia then shut its borders to everyone apart from those who stated they would seek asylum in Germany and Austria, leading to a situation where several hundred people found themselves effectively trapped in Macedonia.

    "The first group of migrants will be taken by train to [the Serbian border], another train is expected today which will go to [the Greek border]. The border authorities state that all refugees who are nationals of Afghanistan, Iraq and Syria can cross the Serbian border if they claim asylum in Austria or Germany," the Macedonian Interior Ministry said in a statement, as quoted by the Plusinfo portal.

    Last year saw an unprecedented wave of migration to Europe, with over one million migrants arriving to European shores, according to International Organization for Migration data. Over 1.5 million illegal border crossings were detected by the EU border agency Frontex between the beginning of 2015 and mid-December.

    Major Migrant Crisis in Europe (1819)


    UK Says Opens Probe in Refugees' Claims Marked as Targets for Abuse
    Flow of Refugees Via Russia to Norway Dries Up in Recent Weeks
    Over 200 Refugees From Syria, Eritrea Sue German Migrant Service
    From Going Dutch to Going Away: Refugees Are Leaving the Netherlands
    migrants, refugees, Germany, Macedonia, Austria
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik