22:19 GMT10 April 2021
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    Norway, Sweden and Denmark introduced controls of border controls along the internal borders of the Schengen Area, Austria, Germany, France and Malta have plans to introduce border controls, according to European Commission spokeswoman Natasha Bertaud.

    BRUSSELS (Sputnik) – The articles of the EU legislation on the temporary introduction of border controls along the internal borders of the Schengen Area to curb the influx of undocumented immigrants is applied in seven European countries, European Commission spokeswoman Natasha Bertaud said Monday.

    "Currently, we have three countries that have introduced controls under Article 25 [of Schengen Borders Code], so that’s for unforeseen circumstances. These are Norway, Sweden and Denmark. Then, we have additional four countries that are currently undertaking controls under Article 24, so it’s for foreseen circumstances. These are Austria, Germany, France and Malta," Bertaud told reporters at a press briefing.

    The Schengen Agreement abolishes internal borders, enabling passport-free movement between parties to the treaty. The agreement provides for the temporary closure of internal borders in the event of a threat to national security.

    The European states are still striving to find an optimal solution to the massive refugee crisis, with hundreds of thousands of people fleeing conflict-torn countries in the Middle East and North Africa in search of safety and refuge in Europe.


    Austria Suspends Schengen, Imposes Border Control Amid Refugee Crisis
    Cash Crisis: If Schengen Goes, the Euro is Finished, Warns Merkel
    Refugee Influx Repercussions: Europe’s Schengen System is on Its Deathbed
    Calls For EU to Control External Borders, Not Shut Down Schengen
    border control, Schengen Zone, European Commission, Natasha Bertaud, Norway, Sweden, Germany, Denmark, Malta, France, Austria
    Community standardsDiscussion