14:49 GMT05 July 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL

    Spain and Belgium are due to begin patrolling the Baltic states' skies in 2016 as part of the rotating NATO mission, Latvia's Defense Ministry press service said Monday.

    RIGA (Sputnik) — Four Spanish Eurofighter Typhoon jets will be deployed to Latvia, while Belgian F-16 jets will be deployed to Estonia, the ministry said.

    German and Norwegian Eurofighter Typhoon jets are currently deployed to the Baltic states. The aircraft started their fourth rotating Baltic airspace defense mission in August.

    The three Baltic states comprising Latvia, Estonia and neighboring Lithuania do not possess air patrol capabilities. Since joining NATO in 2004, the three Baltic countries' airspace has been defended by a rotating NATO mission.

    NATO's main base in the Baltic region is located at the Zokniai Air Force Base in Latvia, while the Estonian Amari Air Base has been used by the alliance since 2014.


    German Bundestag Displeased With NATO Plans to Send Aircraft to Turkey
    NATO to Deploy Airborne Warning Aircraft in Turkey – Reports
    Russian ICBMs Can 'Outwit' NATO Missile Shield
    NATO, Eurofighter Typhoon, Latvia
    Community standardsDiscussion