04:33 GMT +315 December 2019
Listen Live
    Presidents Vladimir Putin of Russia, Xi Jinping of China and Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj of Mongolia meeting in Tashkent

    Presidents of Russia, China, Mongolia Sign Deal on Economic Corridor

    © Sputnik / Dmitry Azarov/POOL
    Get short URL
    0 152

    Russian President Vladimir Putin, Chinese leader Xi Jinping and their Mongolian counterpart Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj on Thursday adopted a program envisaging the creation of an economic corridor between the countries.

    TASHKENT (Sputnik) – The sides also signed an agreement between the customs authorities of the three countries, which call for mutual recognition of the result of custom control inspections in respect of certain goods, a RIA Novosti correspondent reported.

    The deal was signed during the two-day summit of Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) leaders, that started in the Uzbekistan's capital of Tashkent earlier on Thursday.

    The SCO is a political, economic and military alliance that includes Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Belarus, Mongolia, Iran, Afghanistan, India and Pakistan hold observer status in the organization, while Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Armenia, Nepal, Turkey and Sri Lanka hold status of dialogue partners.

    Pakistan, India and Iran have officially applied for SCO membership.


    Mongolia’s New Power Plants May Suck Dry Lake Baikal in Siberia
    Russia-Mongolia Joint Drills to Focus on Anti-Terrorism, Reconnaissance
    SCO Summit May Consider Russia-Mongolia-China Economic Corridor Project
    Russia, Mongolia Work Out Possibility of Ruble Loan to Ulaanbaatar - Lavrov
    Shanghai Cooperation Organization, Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj, Vladimir Putin, Xi Jinping, China, Russia, Mongolia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik