02:46 GMT28 January 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 95

    On July 15, 2014, the member countries signed an agreement to establish the $100-billion BRICS New Development Bank and a reserve currency pool worth another $100 billion.

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) — Russia's lower house of parliament, the State Duma, ratified on Friday an agreement on establishment of the BRICS reserve currencies pool worth $100 billion.

    BRICS is an informal interstate association of Russia, Brazil, India, China and South Africa, accounting for 14.6 percent of the world's GDP.

    Russia will contribute $18 billion to the pool, along with India and Brazil. China is expected to contribute the largest share, $41 billion, and South Africa will chip in the remaining $5 billion.

    The $100 billion pool will maintain financial stability of the BRICS countries and allow for defenses against market volatility.

    Within the reserve currencies pool, the BRICS countries will be able to temporarily provide each other with financial support in US dollars if liquidity problems arise.


    BRICS Bank Must Be Launched Before July 9, Russian Finance Minister Says
    Russian Cabinet Backs Bill on BRICS Reserve Currency Pool
    AIIB and BRICS Bank Pose Threat to Bretton-Woods Dollar System – Engdahl
    BRICS May Engage in New Int’l Orbital Station Project – Russian Space Chief
    State Duma, BRICS, Russia
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik