23:24 GMT02 June 2020
Listen Live
    Get short URL
    0 44

    European Commission spokesperson refused to speculate on the forthcoming snap elections in Greece on January 25 which may determine whether the country intends to stay in the eurozone.

    BRUSSELS, January 5 (Sputnik) – Eurozone membership cannot be revoked, European Commission spokesperson for Jobs, Growth, Investment, EMU (Economic and Monetary Union) and the European Semester, Annika Breidthardt said Monday, commenting on Greece's possible exit from the eurozone.

    "Euro membership is irrevocable," Breidthardt stated during a press briefing.

    She refused to speculate on the forthcoming snap elections in Greece on January 25 which may determine whether the country intends to stay in the eurozone.

    "We don't speculate. In fact, contrary to those speculations, let me remind you that on 1 January…we welcomed the 19th member to the eurozone," the spokesperson said.

    She also noted that the European Commission expected the euro to grow as, having proved its resilience, it was "here to stay."

    On January 1, Lithuania became the 19th EU member state to adopt the euro.

    Alongside Lithuania, the eurozone includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain.


    Euro Hits Nine-Year Low Against Dollar on ECB, Greece
    Greek Left-Wing Party Leader Promises to Abandon Austerity Policy
    Lithuania to Adopt Euro on January 1
    European Union, eurozone, European Commission, Europe, Greece
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via SputnikComment via Facebook