10:48 GMT +317 October 2018
Listen Live
    Business

    Russian stocks close for New Year break up more than 120% on year

    Business
    Get short URL
    0 11

    Russia's two main stock exchanges, MICEX and the RTS, closed on Thursday for the New Year holidays, with their key indexes up slightly on the day and more than doubling over the year

    Russia's two main stock exchanges, MICEX and the RTS, closed on Thursday for the New Year holidays, with their key indexes up slightly on the day and more than doubling over the year.

    The index of the ruble-denominated MICEX closed 0.59% up from this morning's opening at 1,370.01 points. The trading session lasted until 11:45 a.m. Moscow time (08:45 GMT).

    The MICEX index has grown 120% since the start of the year, from 619.53 points as of December 31, 2008 to 1,370.01 points as of December 31, 2009.

    The dollar-denominated RTS closed up 1.24% from this morning's opening at 1,444.61 points. The trading session lasted until 12:00 p.m. Moscow time (09:00 GMT).

    Since the start of the year, the RTS index has risen 130%, from 631.89 points as of December 31, 2008 to 1,444.61 points as of December 31, 2009.

    The MICEX and the RTS stock exchanges will open on January 11, 2010.

    MOSCOW, December 31 (RIA Novosti)

    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik
    • Сomment