05:10 GMT29 January 2020
Listen Live
    Asia & Pacific
    Get short URL

    The Citizenship Amendment Bill will grant Indian nationality to Buddhists, Christians, Hindus, Jains, Sikhs and Parsis, who fled Afghanistan, Pakistan and Bangladesh before 2015.

    The upper house of India's parliament has passed a citizenship law for non-Muslim minorities. The bill was approved by 125 members, while 105 opposed it. 

    The Citizenship Amendment Bill is supposed to grant Indian nationality to non-Muslim refugees from Afghanistan, Pakistan and Bangladesh, who fled their home countries before 2015. It also requires Indian citizenship seekers to prove that they arrived in India due to religious persecution. 

    India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to react to the passing of the bill.

    ​The approval of the bill was preceded by intense debates in parliament. Earlier this week, the government announced a 24-hour ban on mobile Internet access in the state of Assam in order to prevent the spread of rumours concerning the possible ill-effects of the bill. 

    refugees, bill, India
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik