14:51 GMT20 April 2021
Listen Live
    Asia & Pacific
    Get short URL
    0 13

    Prime Minister Shinzo Abe previously ordered a reshuffle within the leadership of the governing Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), planned after a victory in elections in July.

    Secretary-General of the Japanese cabinet Yoshihide Suga has announced the list of ministers in the new government.

    Ex-Economic Revitalisation Minister Toshimitsu Motegiwhile has become the new foreign minister instead of Taro Kono, who now heads the defence ministry.

    In the meantime, Shinjiro Koizumi, the 38-year-old son of former Prime Minister Junichiro Koizumi, has joined the cabinet as environmental minister, becoming the youngest man to occupy a seat in the government in Japanese postwar history.

    Former Olympic speed skater Seiko Hashimoto has been named olympic minister to lead the preparations for the 2020 Summer Games.

    Overall, Abe appointed 13 new members of government. Deputy PM and Finance Minister Taro Aso, who has been serving with Abe since 2012, as well as Secretary-General Yoshihide Suga have held on to their positions.


    Japanese Prime Minister Abe Kicks Off Full Cabinet Reshuffle
    Russian President Putin, Indian PM Modi, and Japanese PM Abe Give Speeches at EEF - Video
    Survey Shows Japanese Companies Back Abe’s Plan to Curb Exports to South Korea
    Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) of Japan, Taro Kono, Taro Aso, Koizumi Junichiro, Shinjiro Koizumi, government, Shinzo Abe, Japan
    Community standardsDiscussion