00:59 GMT17 June 2021
Listen Live
    Asia & Pacific
    Get short URL

    The West Java broadcasting commission in Indonesia has restricted the reproduction of 17 songs by Western artists including Ed Sheeran, Rihanna and Ariana Grande, due to the explicit content of their songs.

    "In this case, what is banned is not the songs, but the lyrics of the songs that contain pornography, pornographic association, and obscenity," Rahmat Arifin, deputy head of the commission, said as quoted by the news outlet Tempo. It is noted that these songs can be played only from 22:00 to 03:00.

    READ MORE: Islamabad Strikes Back: Pakistan Bans Bollywood Movies Amid Simmering Tensions

    In total, the list includes 17 songs, including Ed Sheeran's "Shape of You", Zayn Malik's "Let Me", Ariana Grande's "Love Me Harder", Maroon5's "Makes Me Wonder" and Rihanna's "Wild Thoughts".

    According to the broadcasting company, the list was more of a guideline than regulation, though it could sanction radio and television stations for violating it.


    Tommy Robinson Banned From Facebook and Instagram
    K-Pop Band BTS' Twitter Account #1, Beating Trump in Interactions - Reports
    radio station, ban, Edward Sheeran, Ariana Grande, Indonesia
    Community standardsDiscussion