17:19 GMT +323 July 2019
Listen Live
    North Korean leader Kim Jong Un guides the launch of a Hwasong-12 missile in this undated photo released by North Korea's Korean Central News Agency (KCNA) on September 16, 2017

    North Korea Eliminates 10 Observation Posts in Demilitarised Zone - Seoul

    Asia & Pacific
    Get short URL
    0 43

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) - North Korea has destroyed 10 observation posts in the demilitarised zone bordering the South in compliance with an agreement reached between Seoul and Pyongyang in September, the South Korean Defence Ministry said in a statement.

    Representatives from the defence ministries of the two countries agreed during the inter-Korean summit on 19 September to eliminate 11 observation posts, situated in the demilitarised zone, each by late November. The South Korean Defence Ministry then announced that the two parties had agreed to keep one observation post each.

    "The North Korean party eliminated today, November 20, at 3:00 p.m. [6:00 GMT] 10 observation posts by means of explosions as it was agreed," the ministry said on its Facebook page.

    READ MORE: Washington Establishment ‘Grabbing At Straws' Over North Korea's Tactical Weapon

    The ministry added that it had been notified about the planned operation by the North Korean side in advance.

    Relations between Seoul and Pyongyang began to improve after a historic summit between South Korean President Moon Jae-in and North Korean leader Kim Jong-un in April after more than a year of fears of a war over North Korea's nuclear weapons programme. The latest inter-Korean summit took place in September and yielded a number of agreements covering such areas as defence, but also culture and sports.


    North Korea to Expel US Citizen Detained for Illegally Entering State - Reports
    State Department Accuses North Korea of Illegal Shipping to Evade UN Sanctions
    Washington Establishment ‘Grabbing At Straws' Over North Korea's Tactical Weapon
    N Korea Appoints New Deputy FM to Oversee Ties With Moscow – Russian Embassy
    Demilitarized Zone, Moon Jae-in, Kim Jong-un, Democratic Republic of North Korea (DPRK), South Korea
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik