12:20 GMT +321 May 2019
Listen Live
    Ruling coalition lawmakers stand to approve the passage of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) free trade deal in the lower house of the parliament in Tokyo on November 10, 2016

    Japanese Parliament Approves New Agreement on Trans-Pacific Partnership

    © AFP 2019 / JIJI PRESS
    Asia & Pacific
    Get short URL
    0 0 0

    TOKYO (Sputnik) - The Japanese Parliament's upper house on Wednesday passed a law ratifying the new Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement of 11 countries, not counting one original member, the United States.

    The lower chamber of the Japanese parliament already approved the agreement in May.

    The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership was signed in March after the United States' withdrawal. The new version of the agreement introduced changes in intellectual property rights, but left clauses on trade access, investment and state procurement unchanged.

    US President Donald Trump has been critical of the partnership ever since his presidential campaign, pledging to withdraw. As a result, Trump signed a memorandum for US exit from the deal in January 2017.

    The original TPP agreement was signed in 2016 and included Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Vietnam.


    Japan, US Advance Trade Talks, Weigh Bilateral Deals, TPP
    Trump Says WTO, TPP Not Serving US Interests, Bilateral Deals More Profitable
    US May Seek to Rejoin TPP to Survive Trade War With China - Expert
    Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), Donald Trump, Japan
    Community standardsDiscussion
    Comment via FacebookComment via Sputnik