00:35 GMT20 October 2020
Listen Live
    Asia & Pacific
    Get short URL
    0 11

    MOSCOW (Sputnik) - Myanmar's Parliament elected on Wednesday Win Myint, a nominee of the ruling National League for Democracy party and the former speaker of the lower house, as the country's new president, following the resignation of Htin Kyaw last week.

    Win Myint was born in the city of Danubyu in south-western Myanmar on November 8, 1951.

    He graduated from the Rangoon Arts and Science University, where he obtained a bachelor's degree in geology.

    In the 1980s, Win Myint studied law, after which he started to work as a lawyer at the Supreme Court of Myanmar in 1985.

    In 1988, he became a member of the National League for Democracy. The same year he was arrested for participation in the so-called 8888 Uprising nationwide demonstration, which received its name from the date of the event, August 8, 1988.

    READ MORE: Amnesty Int'l Warns Myanmar Conducting 'Military Land Grab' in Rakhine State

    Win Myint was released ahead of Myanmar's general election in 1990. Following his liberation, he run successfully for Ayeyarwady Region’s Danubyu Township, however, the vote's results were then invalidated by the military junta, which ruled the country from 1962 to 2011.

    In 2010, Win Myint became a member of the National League for Democracy's central executive committee.

    In 2012, he was elected as a member of Myanmar's parliament, with his re-election having taken place in 2015.

    From 2016 to 2018, Win Myint served as the speaker of the country's lower house.

    On March 21, 2018 he resigned as speaker in order to run in the presidential election.

    ​On March 28, Win Myint was elected as Myanmar's new president with 403 votes in favor from 636 lawmakers.


    Seven Buddhists Reportedly Killed in Clashes With Police in Myanmar
    Myanmar Military Forced 10 Rohingya to Dig Own Graves, Then Executed Them
    Man Shoots Caged Bear in Myanmar Out of Curiosity During Sightseeing Tour
    elections, Win Myint, Myanmar
    Community standardsDiscussion